WW2 shooter Day of Infamy is free to play this weekend on Steam

Multiplatform 12-10-2017 VG247 32

Day of Infamy, one of the best WW2 shooters available today, is having a free weekend.

Starting today at 10am PT, 1pm ET, 6pm BST, 7pm CEST, Day of Infamy will be available to download and play completely free through Steam. The promotion is to celebrate the release of a new update.

This update, like all previous and future releases, is completely free to all owners. Among the additions is a new tutorial mission in the form of a shooting range, and new map called Brittany.

Day of Infamy is designed as a multiplayer game, but all modes and maps are playable with bots. I recommend starting out in a bot match first to get a feel for the controls. The game strikes a good balance between hardcore and casual, but shooting mechanics fall firmly in the first half.

It’s based on a heavily modified version of Valve’s Source Engine, but it looks much better than you expect a Source game to. As a bonus, it runs good on practically any specs.

During the free weekend, everyone will earn double XP points. XP is used to unlock cosmetic items such as outfits, and has no bearing on the available weapons or equipment.

It all wraps up on Monday, October 16 at the same times above. Give it a go, especially if you liked Insurgency.

Read The Rest at VG247